jump to navigation

Talk Jesus …at least 1 in 5 of your friends may be interested September 22, 2015

Posted by P, J, or J in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve spent the last 19 years of my life helping to see a book translated into languages that don’t have it yet. It’s a book I had no interest in for the first 19 years of my life and which until I went to university I assumed most intelligent people had left behind.

I was wrong.

At university I met people who were smarter than me and yet who believed that Jesus was real and relevant. No one gave me Andy Bannister’s book (‘cos he hadn’t written it). But once I started looking for myself I found other helpful books to help me explore my growing doubts in Atheism and my growing interest in Christ.

Recent research at www.talkingjesus.org suggests that over 80% of practicing Christians in the UK have a university degree or equivalent.

It also suggests that 1 in 5 people are open and interested in learning more about Jesus.

Of course, in the UK, the weird thing is that there is very little standing in the way of people finding out more. It’s not hard to find a church where people are informed and excited about Jesus. It’s not hard to find Christians to talk to. It’s not hard to find Bibles and a whole range of helpful courses (eg Alpha) , and resources.

The survey also suggests that most of the time it’s through conversation that much of that learning more begins to happen.

Somehow, however just as in my youth those conversations don’t happen.

As it says in the blurb for The Atheist Who Didn’t Exist, “many people now assume that a godless scepticism is the default position, indeed the only position for anybody wishing to appear educated, contemporary and urbane. Atheism is hip, religion is boring.”

Prod atheism too hard and much of it unravels. Prod Christianity and it unwraps solid truths.

For my Christian friends here’s a two minute video of those survey results that you can show in your church and talk about to prompt you to talk to those outside your church. (also see exec summary at www.talkingjesus.org)

Do any of the result surprise you? For those not in the UK how different are things where you are?

http://www.talkingjesus.org/videos/index.cfm#

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

